privacysettingsupdate_thumb

[BlackVue Over the Cloud] Privacy by Default

BlackVue Over the Cloud lets you to see on a map where your dashcam is located, view a live stream from your connected dashcam over the Cloud, receive Push Notifications in case of impact detected by the dashcam’s sensor, and more. 
It also lets users share their dashcam’s Live View publicly for all BlackVue users to see or share a dahscam with family or friends.

In an update earlier this year, enhanced privacy settings introduced more granularity for users to choose what they want to share publicly (dashcam name, video, audio). 
It has never been our intention to expose Cloud users without their knowledge or consent.
However, it was brought to our attention that the privacy settings could benefit from added clarity, so we decided to take action.

Privacy by default for all Cloud users

As a precaution, and to ensure that no user is broadcasting their location or Live View video feed inadvertently, we set all users’ camera location, name, video and audio sharing settings to private. This change was made at the server level and concerns both BlackVue Over the Cloud and BlackVue Fleet Tracking accounts.

What it means for users going forward

We updated the dashcam Cloud registration process so that when you choose to “Allow” the app to access your dashcam’s data, public sharing of dashcam location, name, video and audio are all disabled by default. 

What it means for current users

If your Privacy Settings were set to private already, you do not have to change anything.
If you set your dashcam to broadcast its name, video or audio publicly, you will have to change those settings again manually. 

You can access each dashcam’s Privacy settings from BLACKVUE CLOUD (in App) / Cloud Viewer (in Viewer) > Option button (vertical ellipsis ⋮ ) next to your dashcam’s name > Camera settings > Privacy Settings.